RSS

Studying Literacy of Cooperation. Some thoughts before embarking.

27 Apr

penguins: cooperating to keep warm photo by lin padgham on Flickr.

 

 

As I have recently joined a course in «Literacy of Cooperation» lead by Howard Rheingold (author of the before mentioned book about how to thrive online – Net Smart), I would like to share some thoughts on what I am about to dig into. I have just watched a taped lecture about  cooperation in biology and evolution:  The lecturer, Peter Corning at Stanford University, explains how cooperation and synergies are part of, and not contrary to, evolution. He aslo claims that this was acknowledged by Darwin, but overseen by many after him. Before the first online meeting this week (!), I need to organise some thoughts on this. Hopefully, new knowledge and new perspectives will clarify a few things, too. You can find a lot of free material if you visit Rheingolds wiki.

OK, so what do we have here. I can pick out a few key words from this material and see if it makes any sense to me:

– are humans competitive to the extent that we only act according to self interest?

– the struggle for survival is ongoing – not a singel event

– competition may also involve cooperation

– synergy is the effect of, not synonyous with, cooperation. Synergy is «responsible for cooperation in nature, not the other way around» (this part I really did not get)

– cooperation is any kind of relationship between two or more parts, and it produces combined effects

– does cooperation then exist within species, or also between species?

– there are different kinds of synergies, such as scale, division of labour, functional complementarity

– cooperation is a survival strategy, and a multi-level phenomenon

– the sum of the whole is not greater than the sum of the parts, but it is different

– the future; cooperative effects is a key to understanding our evolutionary future

I have been wondering why this biological, evolutionary perspective has been added to a course about cooperation. Does this have consequences for us, does it explain some of our behaviour? What can we learn from this? I am not sure yet. I have just assumed that technology is an aspect in the future of cooperation.

What I do know, though, is that it has sparked some new ideas in how I view cooperation in the classroom: When I went to school, I usually dreaded any kind of cooperation as it usually ment a lot of cost on my behalf, and very little added effect. (Peter Corning also talked about costs and benefits to all the participants.) When  my students are asked to cooperate, the usually seek the same partners, and some prefer working on their own most of the time. They avoid risks. Many students even find that their individual work gives excellent results in terms of grades. My question is, then – why should they cooperate if they are successful on their own? Do we need it for the future? Is group vs individual orientation something cultural, something taught, or something genetic?

Lots of very vague questions here. I have decided to try reading more material and look forward to meeting with my co-learners. Also, I am quite nervous as I have very little experience in this kind of work and have absolutely no clue who 28 out of 29 co-learners are (education, work, age, nationality etc). During 6 weeks there will be live video sessions, forums, blogs and so on. As well as learning new stuff (theory?), I am curious about the work methods and realise that the organisation and co-learning aspect must be entwined with the content and topics, too (so maybe this is where the technology is brought forward).

A last thought: I am working on an exam paper at the Smart learning course and one of our perspectives there is to what extent teachers and leaders (in school) see themselves as learners, or even co-learners. What can teachers learn from students? If a teacher sees herself as a learner (as well as competent, educated), what effect does that have on her students?I think just the very idea of «not having all the answers» is crucial here. If we seek new knowledge, more interesting things can happen. Right now, I am thankful that I have the opportunity to widen my horizons, and I am confident that it will help me develop as a teacher, too.

Bilde

 

Stikkord:

4 Svar til “Studying Literacy of Cooperation. Some thoughts before embarking.

  1. magnushs

    28. april 2014 at 21:52

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the issue of cooperation. I agree with you that choosing biology as the starting point for such a course seems a bit odd. However, the lack of entusiasm of many students when it comes to cooperation is interesting in light of this biologic predispositon for cooperation. Perhaps the point is simply that the school system is «biologically inhuman» in its emphasis on competition and individual skills?

    It will be interesting to hear more about how the course develops. Keep us updated! 🙂

     
  2. Howard Rheingold

    28. april 2014 at 22:39

    My thought in creating the sequence was to start with the most universal — biology — then move to the evolution of cooperation, which segues to cultural evolution, all of which is preparation for social dilemmas (socio-psychological) and institutions for collective action (ways in which humans work out systems for overcoming social dilemmas for mutual benefit) to technologies of cooperation. We could run all tracks simultaneously, but one of the issues I have to balance when presenting material is allowing people time to digest and discuss and not overwhelm them. Bodil, please consider copying this material to a blog on the Social Media Classroom so other co-learners can benefit from it!

     
  3. hernesvold

    29. april 2014 at 17:16

    Thank you both for your answers. I watched one of the videos for week 2 («The natural history of human cooperation»), and I could sense the link between «biology» and social studies already. Actually I brought the video to my students (high school) as I wanted to show them an example of interdisciplinary work or research.

    Yes, I guess I should bring my thoughts to the Social Media Classroom as soon as I have figured out how it works and all.

    For interested readers – here is a link to the video I watched today: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdhG7WX9Fmg&feature=youtu.be

     
  4. digitalelena

    30. april 2014 at 12:14

    Thanks for sharing an interesting post, Lektor Busy Bee 🙂 I enjoyed reading your thoughts about your newest embankment, and I think your course in ”Literacy of Cooperation” sounds very interesting. Using biology as a starting point is quite a new perspective for me as well. I also find it inspirational that even though you are just getting started with your course, you have already brought it into your classroom and brought your students along with you in the discussion. Will there be a blog post about how your students received the video?

    And as I am currently lost in the world of “Game of Thrones” (where many people are cooperating, though some in a less positive way than others), I end my comment with a dramatic quote from Jorah Mormont “No one can survive in this world without help. No one!» (2:03) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7mbwnkN4xo 🙂

     

Legg igjen en kommentar

 
[Ragnspill]

Én blogg, én gamer, mange unyttige tanker

EN REKTORS BEKJENNELSER

Refleksjoner om skole og utdanning

Den digitale krukka

digitale hjelpemiddel i arbeid med elevar med store hjelpebehov

Digital profesjonsutvikling i engelskfaget

Praksiseksempler og refleksjoner

SPOTLIGHT

Undervisningstips jeg vil ta vare på

holyvolt

Oss i mellom, relasjoner og holdninger til hverandre

Using Civilization IV for Learning

Our experiences using the Civilization IV computer game to teach English, Norwegian and Social Science.

Connected Teaching and Learning

Education, lesson plans, technology

Thinking Out Loud

exploring connected learning

Magnushs's Blog

Jeg skal bare si én ting, også lover jeg å holde kjeft. Ok?

Lena's (soon to be) digital classroom

A teacher/student's path towards digital competence in English

NPL-systrene

Det er viktig å satsa litt

annkir

Hvordan bli smartere med smart læring

mylifeasacynicalteacher

Some of thoughts on Education and the vagaries of politicians and managers.

skulebloggen

mine tankar om skule og framtid

Lektorthomas

Realfagsundervisning og digitale tjenester

En høyskolelærers bekjennelser

Tor Haugnes betraktninger og gjøremål i bestrebelsene med å inspirere flest mulig studenter til å tilegne seg kunnskap om dagens samfunn!

