RSS

Another digital lesson: searching, finding?

11 Mar

Today I wanted my students to (want to) learn about human trafficking. Quite early on, we listened to two stories about trafficking from the Access to International English web page (Cappelen). Then I had come up with some statements that were either true or false, or just partly true. I asked my students to pick from my list, and also to make a strategy: what was their plan on how to find relevant information? One of my aims was to show them how they can form statements and hypotheses in future projects.

These were my statements:

MOST VICTIMS OF TRAFFICKING ARE BETWEEN 35 AND 55 YEARS OLD

MOST TRAFFICKING IS LINKED TO SEX SLAVES / THE SEX INDUSTRY

POVERTY IS ALWAYS AT THE ROOT OF THIS PROBLEM

MOST VICTIMS OF TRAFFICKING ARE WOMEN

MOST TRAFFICKING TAKES PLACE FROM THE DEVELOPING WORLD TO THE INDUSTRIALIZED WORLD

TRAFFICKING CANNOT BE COMPARED TO SLAVERY

They probably spent a good 30 minutes on this task, and I believe they were fairly focused – some of them worked really hard, too. This topic can be quite shocking to some, and it is quite disturbing to discover what a huge problem this is, and how much of it is linked to sex abuse of children.

I believe it is very important to evaluate work methods and also check with students when they have completed tasks. Quite often, they want to let me know that they have learnt something, and more often than not this kind of searching leads us to more interesting stuff than just me talking about the topic. Therefore, after they had searched for information about trafficking, I asked them some questions:

1. What was your strategy? Did you consider how you wanted to pay attention or stay focused? Did you plan on how to search for information?

– To this question, most of my students said that they did not really have a plan, or they planned to google things. Some looked for particular words, some tried Scoop.it as I had suggested there might be some material there (one of my students rescooped one of my scoops) and one student said: «My strategy was to google words that may occour in texts about «Human trafficking». I payed attention to look for any words that includes human trafficking victims, and I looked for the word «age». My plan was to first google it, and then go from one side to another links that I may find on a page I was reading». Another student said that «I tried to search for both trafficking and slavery in the same sentence, to find some articles that could include and compare them both».

2. What did you want to find out about (human) trafficking?

Most students wanted to check out statement number 2.

3. What did you learn about human trafficking? Did anything surprise you?

«I learned that trafficking is a much wider problem that I though to begin with. It surprised me how many slaves there are today».

4. Suggest a question about trafficking that could be included in your test

Here are some good ones:

– Do you think trafficking is a global challenge? Why / why not?

– What are some consequences of human trafficking?

– What common traits does trafficking and slavery possess?

– What is human trafficing? How is it a problem on a global basis? Can you suggest any solutions?

Googlelikeaboss

Twitter showed me this one. As Twitter is «currently down for maintenance» (shocking!), I cannot give you the name of who tweeted this one.

 

 

 
1 kommentar

Skrevet av den 11. mars 2014 i Engelsk, Scoop

 

Stikkord: , ,

Ett svar til “Another digital lesson: searching, finding?

  1. digitalelena

    11. mars 2014 at 20:17

    A very interesting topic, and I like the idea of using statements as a starting point, instead of just an overall topic headline. I also like your focus on search strategy, as I believe many often “Google away” and use the first source they find. Indeed an interesting way of modeling how to create hypothesis for your students’ future work. You inspire me! ☺

     

Legg igjen en kommentar

 
[Ragnspill]

Én blogg, én gamer, mange unyttige tanker

En rektors bekjennelser

Refleksjoner om skole og utdanning

Den digitale krukka

digitale hjelpemiddel i arbeid med elevar med store hjelpebehov

Digital profesjonsutvikling i engelskfaget

Praksiseksempler og refleksjoner

SPOTLIGHT

Undervisningstips jeg vil ta vare på

jutedal

Oss i mellom, relasjoner og holdninger til hverandre

Using Civilization IV for Learning

Our experiences using the Civilization IV computer game to teach English, Norwegian and Social Science.

Connected Teaching and Learning

Education, lesson plans, technology

Thinking Out Loud

exploring connected learning

Magnushs's Blog

Jeg skal bare si én ting, også lover jeg å holde kjeft. Ok?

Lena's (soon to be) digital classroom

A teacher/student's path towards digital competence in English

NPL-systrene

Det er viktig å satsa litt

annkir

Hvordan bli smartere med smart læring

mylifeasacynicalteacher

Some of thoughts on Education and the vagaries of politicians and managers.

skulebloggen

mine tankar om skule og framtid

Lektorthomas

Realfagsundervisning og digitale tjenester

En høyskolelærers bekjennelser

Tor Haugnes betraktninger og gjøremål i bestrebelsene med å inspirere flest mulig studenter til å tilegne seg kunnskap om dagens samfunn!

